Deleting and Restoring Volumes

Before you can delete a volume, you must:

  • detach the volume from the cloud VM.
  • permanently delete any clones that were created from the volume.

    Note: When you delete clones, the clones are "marked for deletion" for 72 hours before they are permanently deleted. You can elect to forgo the 72 hour wait and instantly delete clones by using the permanently delete function.

To delete a volume:

  1. Click the volume in the Cloud Volumes window. The Volume Details window appears.
  2. Click Delete Volume from the Actions menu.
  3. Refresh your browser.

    Note: Deleted volumes can be restored up to 72 hours after being deleted.

To restore a deleted volume:

  1. In the Cloud Volumes window, click the drop-down menu in the upper right corner of the window.
  2. Click Show Deleted Volumes. The deleted volumes appear with a "Marked for Deletion" indicator.
  3. Locate and click the volume you want to restore, and then click the Restore Volume icon.

To permanently delete a deleted volume or clone:

  1. In the Cloud Volumes window, click the drop-down menu in the upper right corner of the window.
  2. Click Show Deleted Volumes. The deleted volumes appear with a "Marked for Deletion" indicator.
  3. Click the volume you want to permanently delete, and then click the Permanently Delete icon.

Important: When working in an Azure account, if you delete all your cloud volumes, you must delete the Express Route connection to VNet once the last volume in Azure is deleted